Garmin Forerunner 970 smartwatchRunning~$750

Garmin

Garmin Forerunner 970

Android; iPhone with limitsPaid tier: Garmin Connect+ECG app, FDA-cleared

Garmin's top Forerunner since May 2025 brings fēnix-class tools into a 56 g running watch: preloaded road and trail maps, an LED flashlight, the ECG app, a sapphire lens and a titanium bezel. Garmin also introduced running tolerance, running economy and step speed loss on it. Battery is rated at 15 days in smartwatch mode and 21 hours with multi-band GPS, ahead of the Forerunner 570 on both counts.

Approx. price

~$750

maker's list price, not a live price

Battery, smartwatch mode

15 days

the maker's headline

Battery, always-on display

not published

the maker gives no figure

Battery, GPS workout

26 h

maker's figure

Works with

Android; iPhone with limits

see the limits below

Weight

56 g

Garmin spec: 'Weight: 56 g' (band inclusion not stated)

Best for: A marathoner or triathlete who wants maps and a flashlight without the size of a fēnix

Battery: the claim and the other two figures

Claimed (smartwatch mode)
15 days
With always-on display
not published
GPS workout
26 h
  • Headline: Garmin: 'Smartwatch mode: Up to 15 days'.
  • GPS: Garmin: 'GPS-Only GNSS mode: Up to 26 hours'; 'SatIQ (AutoSelect) GNSS mode: Up to 23 hours'.
  • Dual-band GPS: 21 h.
  • Garmin: 'All-Systems GNSS mode + Multi-Band: Up to 21 hours'; with music 12 hours; no always-on figure published

The ring’s outer track is the headline claim; the inner two are the always-on and GPS figures as a share of it. An empty track means Garmin does not publish that figure. Why the figures differ

Phones, paid tier and updates

iPhone:
Yes, with limits.
Android:
Yes.
Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch
Paid tier:
Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year.
No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads
Watch plus two years of Garmin Connect+: ~$890.
Software updates:
Garmin does not publish a guaranteed number of update years for this model.

Cleared health features

  • ECG app (FDA)FDA 510(k) K221774 'Garmin ECG App', Garmin International, cleared 01/12/2023 (electrocardiograph software for over-the-counter use; Garmin: records a Lead I-like ECG and detects AFib or normal sinus rhythm, adults 22+); Garmin lists 'Garmin ECG app' in this model's US spec table Source

A clearance says what a feature is allowed to claim, not that it replaces a doctor. Cleared versus wellness features

What the extra money buys: Against the Garmin Forerunner 70, the extra ~$500 buys dual-band GPS, full topo maps, music storage, a flashlight, contactless pay, more cleared health features, 3 h more GPS time and a longer headline battery (15 days vs 13 days). See the Garmin Forerunner 70.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$750 (Forerunner 970, 47 mm, $749.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/1462801)
Type
Running
Platform
Garmin
Weight
47 mm: 56 g (Garmin spec: 'Weight: 56 g' (band inclusion not stated))
Battery, smartwatch mode
15 days (Garmin: 'Smartwatch mode: Up to 15 days')
Battery, always-on display
Not published by the maker
Battery, GPS workout
26 h (Garmin: 'GPS-Only GNSS mode: Up to 26 hours'; 'SatIQ (AutoSelect) GNSS mode: Up to 23 hours')
Battery note
Garmin: 'All-Systems GNSS mode + Multi-Band: Up to 21 hours'; with music 12 hours; no always-on figure published
Works with
Android; iPhone with limits
iPhone
Yes, with limits
Phone limits
Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch
Paid tier
Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year
What the paid tier gates
No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads
Update years
Not published by the maker
Display
AMOLED
Maps
Full topo maps on the watch (Garmin: 'Preloaded road and trail maps', routable Cycle Map, ski resort maps, round-trip course creator and ClimbPro)
LTE
No LTE version
Case
titanium bezel (Garmin does not list the case material)
Released
2025

Features, per Garmin

  • Preloaded road and trail maps with ClimbPro
  • LED flashlight
  • Garmin ECG app
  • Speaker and microphone for calls
  • Running tolerance, running economy and step speed loss
  • 32 GB storage, sapphire lens

Where the specs put it ahead

  • Full maps with ClimbPro in a 12.9 mm-thick running watch, slimmer than any fēnix 9
  • 21 hours of multi-band GPS covers an ultra or Ironman with margin
  • FDA-cleared ECG app (Garmin) that the Forerunner 570 lacks
  • The LED flashlight helps on pre-dawn runs
  • Sapphire lens resists scratches better than the Gorilla Glass on the 570
  • Fifteen days in smartwatch mode, five more than the 42 mm Forerunner 570

What it gives up

  • One 47 mm size only, large on small wrists
  • 5 ATM rather than the 10 ATM of the fēnix and Enduro lines
  • No always-on battery figure published

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

From what 15 owners of the Forerunner 970 reported between July and September 2026. Earlier generations are not counted.

Forerunner 970 owners like what it does when it works. Apple Watch switchers say they love it, a triathlete who wore it beside a Coros Pace 4 found it comfortable for its size, liked its sleep detail and morning reports, and said it handles pool rest intervals and calls better.

Reliability draws the complaints. Four owners say treadmill pace and distance are far off even after calibration. Others report touch input that misreads scrolls, units arriving with defects or failing to pair, an altimeter that went haywire after months of use, and software glitches that blanked heart rate after an update or dropped route maps from Connect. The Connect app itself strikes owners as dated.

It is built for outdoor runners and triathletes who want maps, a flashlight and long GPS battery in a lighter case than a fēnix. Owners who run on treadmills a lot, or who have little patience for firmware quirks at this price, report the sharpest frustration.

What owners like

  • Owners are enthusiastic once settled: an Apple Watch switcher says they love everything about it, and a first-time Garmin owner credits it with keeping them motivated to train
  • One triathlete who wore it beside a Coros Pace 4 found it about as comfortable as a watch this size can be, and preferred its sleep detail, morning and evening reports and call handling
  • In the pool, one owner found its heart rate reacts faster during strokes than a Coros Pace 4 and its Auto Rest handles pauses better, though flipping through five data pages mid-swim is a chore

Common complaints

  • Treadmill runs draw the loudest complaints: owners report pace and distance that drift badly, double the treadmill's figure or cap out partway through, even after calibrating
  • The touchscreen can misread scrolls as taps or ghost-touch into random menus; one owner returned theirs over it and another weighed doing the same
  • Quality control has let owners down: a cosmetic defect out of the box, a first unit that would not pair with the app, and an altimeter that later logged over 1,000 feet of climb on flat runs
  • Software glitches turn up: heart rate showing blank during runs after one update, route maps vanishing from activities in Connect, and email alerts arriving in floods after hours of silence
  • Garmin Connect feels old and slow to navigate next to Coros's app, and one long-time Garmin owner finds the watch interface itself stale

Questions owners ask about the Garmin Forerunner 970

Why is my 970 so far off on the treadmill?

Owners report treadmill pace that lags or races ahead and distance that doubles or stops counting, sometimes after weeks of normal readings. Calibrating after runs did not fix it for at least two owners.

Is the touchscreen on the 970 reliable?

Two owners found it often registers a tap when they scroll, sending them into menus they did not want; one returned the watch.

Others in the same part of the catalog

Garmin Forerunner 265 smartwatch
Garmin~$450

Garmin Forerunner 265

Running · Garmin

Android; iPhone with limitsPaid tier: Garmin Connect+
  • Multi-band GPS
  • Music + Pay
  • Two case sizes

Best for: A runner training for a half or full marathon who wants multi-band accuracy and music below flagship pricing

More from Garmin →

← Back to the catalog