Garmin Forerunner 570 smartwatchRunning~$550

Garmin

Garmin Forerunner 570

Android; iPhone with limitsPaid tier: Garmin Connect+

Announced alongside the Forerunner 970 in May 2025, the 570 adds a speaker and microphone for calls and voice commands, an aluminum bezel and Garmin Triathlon Coach plans to the Forerunner 265 formula. What it leaves out compared with the 970 is maps, the LED flashlight, the ECG app and the sapphire lens. Garmin rates it at 10 days (42 mm) or 11 days (47 mm), shorter than the 265 it sits above.

Approx. price

~$550

maker's list price, not a live price

Battery, smartwatch mode

10 days

the maker's headline

Battery, always-on display

not published

the maker gives no figure

Battery, GPS workout

18 h

maker's figure

Works with

Android; iPhone with limits

see the limits below

Weight

42 g

Garmin spec, 42 mm: 'Weight: 42 g' (band inclusion not stated)

Best for: A runner or triathlete who wants calls and a brighter screen but has no use for on-watch maps

Battery: the claim and the other two figures

Claimed (smartwatch mode)
10 days
With always-on display
not published
GPS workout
18 h
  • Headline: Garmin, 42 mm: 'Smartwatch mode: Up to 10 days'; 47 mm: up to 11 days.
  • GPS: Garmin, 42 mm: 'GPS-Only GNSS mode: Up to 18 hours'; 'SatIQ (AutoSelect) GNSS mode: Up to 14 hours'.
  • Dual-band GPS: 13 h.
  • Garmin, 42 mm: 'All-Systems GNSS mode + Multi-Band: Up to 13 hours' (47 mm: 14 hours); no always-on figure published

The ring’s outer track is the headline claim; the inner two are the always-on and GPS figures as a share of it. An empty track means Garmin does not publish that figure. Why the figures differ

Phones, paid tier and updates

iPhone:
Yes, with limits.
Android:
Yes.
Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch
Paid tier:
Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year.
No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads
Watch plus two years of Garmin Connect+: ~$690.
Software updates:
Garmin does not publish a guaranteed number of update years for this model.

Cleared health features

Garmin cites no regulator clearance for a health feature on this model. Its heart-rate, sleep and blood-oxygen readings are wellness features.

A clearance says what a feature is allowed to claim, not that it replaces a doctor. Cleared versus wellness features

What the extra money buys: Against the Garmin Forerunner 70, the extra ~$300 buys dual-band GPS, music storage, contactless pay and more case sizes. See the Garmin Forerunner 70.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$550 (Forerunner 570, 42 mm or 47 mm, $549.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/1463821)
Type
Running
Platform
Garmin
Case sizes
42 mm / 47 mm
Weight
42 mm: 42 g · 47 mm: 50 g (Garmin spec, 42 mm: 'Weight: 42 g' (band inclusion not stated))
Battery, smartwatch mode
10 days (Garmin, 42 mm: 'Smartwatch mode: Up to 10 days'; 47 mm: up to 11 days)
Battery, always-on display
Not published by the maker
Battery, GPS workout
18 h (Garmin, 42 mm: 'GPS-Only GNSS mode: Up to 18 hours'; 'SatIQ (AutoSelect) GNSS mode: Up to 14 hours')
Battery note
Garmin, 42 mm: 'All-Systems GNSS mode + Multi-Band: Up to 13 hours' (47 mm: 14 hours); no always-on figure published
Works with
Android; iPhone with limits
iPhone
Yes, with limits
Phone limits
Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch
Paid tier
Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year
What the paid tier gates
No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads
Update years
Not published by the maker
Cleared health features
None the maker cites
Display
AMOLED
Maps
Route line only (Garmin lists Courses, Back to start and TracBack; built-in maps are reserved for the Forerunner 970)
LTE
No LTE version
Case
aluminum bezel (Garmin does not list the case material)
Released
2025

Features, per Garmin

  • Built-in speaker and microphone for calls with a paired phone
  • Multi-band GPS with SatIQ
  • Garmin Triathlon Coach and evening report
  • Skin temperature and Health Status
  • Music storage and Garmin Pay
  • 42 mm and 47 mm cases

Where the specs put it ahead

  • Take calls and use the phone's voice assistant from the wrist, which the Forerunner 265 cannot
  • Multi-band GPS and SatIQ give accurate tracks without forcing the battery-heaviest mode
  • Free Garmin Triathlon Coach plans adapt daily from recovery data
  • Two case sizes cover small and large wrists at the same price
  • Music and Garmin Pay come standard

What it gives up

  • No maps, flashlight or ECG app; those need the Forerunner 970
  • Shorter smartwatch battery than the cheaper Forerunner 265
  • No published always-on battery figure
  • Text replies from the watch work only with Android

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

From what 10 owners of the Forerunner 570 reported between July and September 2026. Earlier generations are not counted.

A lot of the owner feedback on the Forerunner 570 comes from people new to Garmin, and their early verdict is positive. Switchers from Apple Watch and Coros say they settled in fast and enjoy the depth of data, and one owner who trains with a chest strap found its wrist heart rate on easy runs a clear step up from the Forerunner 265.

The friction is in software. Owners find Garmin Connect cluttered and dated, one reports the watch auto-declining incoming calls, another found the daily calorie total ignoring a swim, and one switcher wanted per-app notification control and longer battery. Wrist heart rate during weightlifting is another weak spot.

It fits runners and swimmers who want calls on the wrist and current sensors in a smaller case than the 970. Owners who mainly lift tend to add a chest strap, and at least one 265 owner who upgraded did not think the jump was worth it.

What owners like

  • Owners coming from Apple Watch or a Coros say they settled in quickly and were enjoying it within days to a month, with one praising how far the data screens can be customised once set up
  • One owner who used a chest strap for months says the 570's wrist heart rate on base runs is clearly better than the Forerunner 265 they had before
  • A small-wristed owner who switched from a Coros Pace 4 says the 42 mm case feels more premium, and calls on the wrist were clear enough to answer from the shower a floor away from the phone

Common complaints

  • Garmin Connect feels cluttered and dated to owners, who find it harder to read and navigate than they expected
  • Wrist heart rate during weightlifting is often way off, so one owner who lifts several times a week bought a chest strap
  • Call handling is not always reliable: one owner's watch auto-declines almost every incoming call, even when the wrist is still
  • Battery runs shorter than a Coros Pace 4 day to day, and third-party watch faces drain it faster; notification filtering by app is also clumsy, per one switcher
  • Garmin Coach plans can feel repetitive: one owner was served the same easy base run every session for three weeks
  • One upgrader never warmed to it: an owner who moved up from a 265S for golf features still prefers the older watch after two months

Questions owners ask about the Garmin Forerunner 570

Is the 570's wrist heart rate better than the Forerunner 265's?

One owner who had both and trains with a chest strap says the 570 tracks easy runs noticeably closer to the strap. For weightlifting, another owner found it often way off and bought a strap.

Why don't my swim calories show up in the daily total?

One owner saw a swim's active calories missing from the daily figure even after re-pairing the watch. It looks like a Connect calculation issue rather than a hardware fault, so it is worth reporting to Garmin support.

Others in the same part of the catalog

Garmin Forerunner 265 smartwatch
Garmin~$450

Garmin Forerunner 265

Running · Garmin

Android; iPhone with limitsPaid tier: Garmin Connect+
  • Multi-band GPS
  • Music + Pay
  • Two case sizes

Best for: A runner training for a half or full marathon who wants multi-band accuracy and music below flagship pricing

Garmin Forerunner 970 smartwatch
Garmin~$750

Garmin Forerunner 970

Running · Garmin

Android; iPhone with limitsPaid tier: Garmin Connect+ECG app, FDA-cleared
  • Topo maps
  • FDA-cleared ECG
  • 21 h multi-band

Best for: A marathoner or triathlete who wants maps and a flashlight without the size of a fēnix

More from Garmin →

← Back to the catalog