Garmin Forerunner 265 vs Garmin Forerunner 570
The Garmin Forerunner 570 lists for about $100 more than the Garmin Forerunner 265. On the headline smartwatch-mode figure, 15 days for the Garmin Forerunner 265 against 10 days for the Garmin Forerunner 570. For a GPS workout the figures are 24 h and 18 h. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

Garmin
Garmin Forerunner 265
~$450
Garmin moved this mid-range runner to an AMOLED screen in March 2023, and it remains on sale beside the newer 570.
Best for: A runner training for a half or full marathon who wants multi-band accuracy and music below flagship pricing

Garmin
Garmin Forerunner 570
~$550
Announced alongside the Forerunner 970 in May 2025, the 570 adds a speaker and microphone for calls and voice commands, an aluminum bezel and Garmin Triathlon Coach plans to the Forerunner 265 formula.
Best for: A runner or triathlete who wants calls and a brighter screen but has no use for on-watch maps
| Specification | Garmin Forerunner 265 | Garmin Forerunner 570 |
|---|---|---|
| Approx. price | ~$450 (Forerunner 265S or 265, both $449.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/886785 and /p/886689) | ~$550 (Forerunner 570, 42 mm or 47 mm, $549.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/1463821) |
| Type | Running | Running |
| Platform | Garmin | Garmin |
| Case sizes | 41.7 mm (265S) / 46.1 mm | 42 mm / 47 mm |
| Weight | 41.7 mm (265S): 39 g · 46.1 mm: 47 g (Garmin spec, 265S: 'Weight: 39 g' (band inclusion not stated)) | 42 mm: 42 g · 47 mm: 50 g (Garmin spec, 42 mm: 'Weight: 42 g' (band inclusion not stated)) |
| Battery, smartwatch mode | 15 days (Garmin, 265S (41.7 mm): 'Smartwatch mode: Up to 15 days'; 265 (46 mm): up to 13 days) | 10 days (Garmin, 42 mm: 'Smartwatch mode: Up to 10 days'; 47 mm: up to 11 days) |
| Battery, always-on display | Not published by the maker | Not published by the maker |
| Battery, GPS workout | 24 h (Garmin, 265S: 'GPS-Only GNSS mode: Up to 24 hours'; 265 (46 mm): GPS-only up to 20 hours, SatIQ (AutoSelect) up to 16 hours) | 18 h (Garmin, 42 mm: 'GPS-Only GNSS mode: Up to 18 hours'; 'SatIQ (AutoSelect) GNSS mode: Up to 14 hours') |
| Battery, dual-band GPS | 15 h | 13 h |
| Battery note | Garmin, 265S: all-systems + multi-band up to 15 hours (265: 'All-Systems GNSS mode + Multi-Band: Up to 14 hours'); Garmin publishes no always-on figure for this model | Garmin, 42 mm: 'All-Systems GNSS mode + Multi-Band: Up to 13 hours' (47 mm: 14 hours); no always-on figure published |
| Works with | Android; iPhone with limits | Android; iPhone with limits |
| iPhone | Yes, with limits | Yes, with limits |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Phone limits | Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch | Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch |
| Paid tier | Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year | Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year |
| What the paid tier gates | No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads | No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads |
| Update years | Not published by the maker | Not published by the maker |
| Cleared health features | None the maker cites | None the maker cites |
| Display | AMOLED | AMOLED |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
| Dual-band GPS | Yes | Yes |
| Maps | Route line only (Garmin lists Courses, Back to start and TracBack; no built-in maps) | Route line only (Garmin lists Courses, Back to start and TracBack; built-in maps are reserved for the Forerunner 970) |
| Music on the watch | Yes | Yes |
| LTE | No LTE version | No LTE version |
| Contactless pay | Yes | Yes |
| Flashlight | No | No |
| Water rating | 5 ATM | 5 ATM |
| Case | fiber-reinforced polymer | aluminum bezel (Garmin does not list the case material) |
| Released | 2023 | 2025 |
Garmin Forerunner 265: what it gives up
- A 2023 design: no speaker or calls, which the Forerunner 570 and 970 add, and no flashlight, which only the 970 adds
- Garmin publishes no always-on battery figure, so the real AOD runtime is unknown
- No maps; navigation is breadcrumb courses only
- Only 5 ATM water rating
- Text replies from the watch need an Android phone
- Fewer health additions than the 570, which adds skin temperature and Health Status
Garmin Forerunner 570: what it gives up
- No maps, flashlight or ECG app; those need the Forerunner 970
- Shorter smartwatch battery than the cheaper Forerunner 265
- No published always-on battery figure
- Text replies from the watch work only with Android
Full pages: Garmin Forerunner 265 · Garmin Forerunner 570