Apple Watch Series 12 smartwatchEveryday smartwatch~$399

Apple

Apple Watch Series 12

iPhone onlyPaid tier: Apple Fitness+4 FDA-cleared features

Apple's 2026 mainstream watch adds a new Health Sensing System that, per Apple, takes background heart rate readings 60x more often than Series 11 and HRV 24x more often, feeding a new Readiness score. Apple still rates it at 24 hours of normal use, or 38 in Low Power Mode. Aluminum, titanium and ceramic cases share the same 42 and 46 mm sizes; titanium and ceramic get a sapphire front.

Approx. price

~$399

maker's list price, not a live price

Battery, smartwatch mode

24 h

the maker's headline

Battery, always-on display

not published

the maker gives no figure

Battery, GPS workout

10 h

maker's figure

Works with

iPhone only

see the limits below

Weight

32.2 g

aluminum, GPS, case only (Apple spec page)

Best for: iPhone owners who want the full Apple health suite and don't need multi-day battery

Battery: the claim and the other two figures

Claimed (smartwatch mode)
24 h
With always-on display
not published
GPS workout
10 h
  • Headline: Apple: 'All-day battery life, up to 24 hours of normal use' (both sizes; includes 6 hours of sleep tracking).
  • GPS: Apple: 'Up to 10 hours workout tracking' — outdoor run, without iPhone, heart rate on (single-frequency L1 GPS).
  • Apple: up to 38 hours in Low Power Mode; Apple does not state whether the always-on display was enabled in its 24-hour test

The ring’s outer track is the headline claim; the inner two are the always-on and GPS figures as a share of it. An empty track means Apple does not publish that figure. Why the figures differ

Phones, paid tier and updates

iPhone:
Yes.
Android:
No.
Needs iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later; Apple sells no Android pairing
Paid tier:
Apple Fitness+, $79.99/year.
No watch feature requires it; it adds guided workout and meditation video classes that use the watch's metrics on screen
Watch plus two years of Apple Fitness+: ~$559.
LTE:
GPS + Cellular version needs a carrier plan; the carrier sets the price (apple.com/watch/cellular)
Software updates:
Apple does not publish a guaranteed number of update years for this model.

Cleared health features

  • ECG app (FDA)FDA De Novo DEN180044 'ECG App', Apple Inc., granted 09/11/2018; Apple lists the ECG app on this model's spec page Source
  • Irregular rhythm notifications (FDA)FDA De Novo DEN180042 'Irregular Rhythm Notification Feature', Apple Inc., granted 09/11/2018; listed on this model's spec page Source
  • Sleep apnea notifications (FDA)FDA 510(k) K240929 'Sleep Apnea Notification Feature (SANF)', Apple Inc., cleared 09/13/2024; Apple: available on Series 9 and later, Ultra 2 and later, and SE 3 Source
  • Hypertension notifications (FDA)FDA 510(k) K250507 'Hypertension Notification Feature (HTNF)', Apple Inc., cleared 09/11/2025; listed on this model's spec page Source

A clearance says what a feature is allowed to claim, not that it replaces a doctor. Cleared versus wellness features

What the extra money buys: Against the Apple Watch SE 3, the extra ~$150 buys more cleared health features, 3 h more GPS time and a longer headline battery (24 h vs 18 h). See the Apple Watch SE 3.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$399 (42mm aluminum GPS, 'From $399' on apple.com/shop/buy-watch)
Type
Everyday smartwatch
Platform
watchOS
Case sizes
42 mm / 46 mm
Weight
42 mm: 32.2 g · 46 mm: 39.5 g (aluminum, GPS, case only (Apple spec page))
Battery, smartwatch mode
24 h (Apple: 'All-day battery life, up to 24 hours of normal use' (both sizes; includes 6 hours of sleep tracking))
Battery, always-on display
Not published by the maker
Battery, GPS workout
10 h (Apple: 'Up to 10 hours workout tracking' — outdoor run, without iPhone, heart rate on (single-frequency L1 GPS))
Battery note
Apple: up to 38 hours in Low Power Mode; Apple does not state whether the always-on display was enabled in its 24-hour test
Works with
iPhone only
Phone limits
Needs iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later; Apple sells no Android pairing
Paid tier
Apple Fitness+, $79.99/year
What the paid tier gates
No watch feature requires it; it adds guided workout and meditation video classes that use the watch's metrics on screen
Update years
Not published by the maker
Cleared health features
ECG app (FDA), Irregular rhythm notifications (FDA), Sleep apnea notifications (FDA), Hypertension notifications (FDA)
Maps
Downloadable maps, no topo (Apple: 'Offline maps with custom route creation' plus 'Topographic maps for thousands of national and regional parks (U.S. only)' — not worldwide topo)
LTE
Optional (GPS + Cellular version needs a carrier plan; the carrier sets the price (apple.com/watch/cellular))
Water rating
50 m (ISO 22810:2010) + IP6X
Case
aluminum
Released
2026

Features, per Apple

  • S11 chip, 64GB storage
  • Readiness app and Vitals with HRV
  • ECG, irregular rhythm, sleep apnea and hypertension notifications
  • 2000-nit Always-On Retina display (LTPO3)
  • Offline maps with custom routes; U.S. park topo maps
  • 5G RedCap on cellular models
  • Fall and Crash Detection, Emergency SOS

Where the specs put it ahead

  • Four FDA-cleared heart and sleep features, where the SE 3 has two and no ECG
  • Two case sizes cover small and large wrists, unlike the single-size Ultra 4
  • Stores music and pays with Apple Pay, so runs can be phone-free on the cellular model
  • At 32 g (42 mm aluminum) it is roughly half the weight of an Ultra 4
  • Deepest third-party app catalog of any watch platform

What it gives up

  • Apple's 24-hour rating is half the Ultra 4's, so it is the one to pick only if charging every day or two suits you
  • Single-frequency GPS only, where the Ultra 4 has dual-frequency
  • Works only with an iPhone
  • 10-hour workout figure is short for marathon-plus events

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

From what 43 owners of the Apple Watch Series 12 reported between October 1 and October 6, 2026. Earlier generations are not counted.

Battery and weight are what Series 12 owners talk about first. People coming from a Series 9, 10 or 11 say it lasts noticeably longer than they expected from a 24-hour rating, with two getting close to two days. Five early owners stepped down from an Ultra and say the thinner, lighter case is the reason: it is comfortable to sleep in, which the Ultra was not for them. Owners leaving an Ultra do still notice the smaller battery, and one says they have made peace with a single day.

The new health features have had a rougher start. One owner says the Readiness score flagged a cold early and gave sensible advice, but others wearing it to bed every night report Readiness and overnight HRV still not ready after two weeks, and two owners say sleep stopped recording altogether after the first night. Activity counting has changed too: some owners see fewer steps than on their old watch and disagree on whether that is a fix or a fault, and others report exercise minutes not logging. Siri raise-to-speak is hit and miss depending on who you ask.

On the hardware, owners like the glass and the Dark Bronze finish, but three feel a raised lip at the case edge, and two owners scratched the ceramic version quickly. Owners who top up during the morning routine praise the charging speed, though one owner says two titanium units each took about an hour to reach 80%. It suits iPhone owners who want a comfortable watch they can sleep in and are patient with first-month software quirks.

What owners like

  • Battery runs past the 24-hour rating in everyday use: owners coming from a Series 9, 10 or 11 report waking with charge to spare, and two say they go close to two days between charges with workouts logged
  • Owners who stepped down from an Ultra say it is light enough to forget about, and five name sleeping comfortably, which they could not do in the Ultra, as a reason they switched
  • A top-up while showering or getting dressed brings it back near full for five owners, which makes the daily charge easy to live with
  • Owners like how the new glass and the Dark Bronze finish look in person, saying the watch looks better on the wrist than in Apple's renders

Common complaints

  • Readiness and overnight HRV can take a long time to appear: owners who wear it to bed every night report the app still asking for more nights after two weeks, and one says the score feels far too cautious
  • Sleep sometimes stops recording after the first night, and one owner says a reset and an exchange for a new watch did not fix it
  • Activity counts behave differently from older Apple Watches: some owners see fewer steps (one thinks that is more honest, another calls it undercounting), others report exercise minutes not logging on treadmill, elliptical or outdoor rides, and one owner's step count sticks on the same number
  • Siri raise-to-speak is unreliable for some owners, who say requests cut off when they lower their wrist or need an exaggerated arm movement; others report it working fine
  • Owners notice a raised lip where the glass meets the aluminum case, which feels sharp next to the smooth edge of a Series 10 or 11
  • Two owners scratched the ceramic model within days (one a gash after sleeping in it, one where the bands attach), though another chose ceramic for its durability

Questions owners ask about the Apple Watch Series 12

How long does the Series 12 battery last in real use?

Five owners who reported numbers beat the 24-hour rating. One owner was at 31% after about 32 hours, another reached nearly 48 hours, and one wakes with 40-50% left and tops up while getting ready. Owners moving from an Ultra still find it a one-day watch compared with what they had.

Is it comfortable enough to sleep in if the Ultra wasn't?

Five of the owners who left an Ultra name sleep comfort among their reasons. They describe it as light and barely noticeable at night, and one owner wears an Ultra by day and the Series 12 to bed.

Why is my step count lower than on my old Apple Watch?

Owners report the same thing and read it differently. One believes the watch no longer credits arm movement while seated, which older models over-counted; another thinks it undercounts, and one owner's count sticks on the same number. Recalibrating did not help the owners who tried it.

Others in the same part of the catalog

Apple Watch SE 3 smartwatch
Apple~$249

Apple Watch SE 3

Everyday smartwatch · watchOS

iPhone onlyPaid tier: Apple Fitness+2 FDA-cleared features
  • 18 h battery
  • Always-on display
  • Sleep apnea alerts

Best for: First-time iPhone watch buyers, or a child's watch set up through Apple Watch For Your Kids

Google Pixel Watch 5 smartwatch
Google~$400

Google Pixel Watch 5

Everyday smartwatch · Wear OS

Android onlyPaid tier: Google Health Premium3 FDA-cleared features
  • Loss of Pulse alert
  • 30 h with AOD
  • Dual-band GPS

Best for: Android owners (any brand) who want Fitbit-grade health tracking on Wear OS

Samsung Galaxy Watch9 smartwatch
Samsung~$380

Samsung Galaxy Watch9

Everyday smartwatch · Wear OS

Android; some features need the maker's own phone2 FDA-cleared features
  • 30 h with AOD
  • Dual-band GPS
  • FDA-cleared ECG

Best for: Samsung Galaxy phone owners who want a light everyday watch with full health features

More from Apple →

← Back to the catalog