Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED vs Garmin Instinct E
The Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED lists for about $100 more than the Garmin Instinct E. On the headline smartwatch-mode figure, 18 days for the Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED against 14 days for the Garmin Instinct E. For a GPS workout the figures are 32 h and 21 h. Only the Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED has dual-band GPS. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

Garmin
Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED
~$350
Garmin launched Instinct 3 in January 2025 in two display types, AMOLED or solar MIP, sold as separate models.
Best for: A hiker or hunter who wants a tough, bright watch with a flashlight and has no need for maps

Garmin
Garmin Instinct E
~$250
Garmin's cheapest Instinct pairs the rugged 10 ATM case with a two-window monochrome MIP screen and no solar.
Best for: A buyer who wants a durable, readable-in-sun tracker for the outdoors on the smallest budget
| Specification | Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED | Garmin Instinct E |
|---|---|---|
| Approx. price | ~$350 (Instinct 3, 45 mm AMOLED, $349.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/1316397; 50 mm AMOLED $399.99) | ~$250 (Instinct E, 40 mm or 45 mm, $249.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/1314137) |
| Type | Rugged outdoor | Rugged outdoor |
| Platform | Garmin | Garmin |
| Case sizes | 45 mm / 50 mm | 40 mm / 45 mm |
| Weight | 45 mm: 53 g · 50 mm: 59 g (Garmin spec: 'Weight: 53 g' (band inclusion not stated)) | 40 mm: 41 g · 45 mm: 48 g (Garmin spec: 'Weight: 41 g' (band inclusion not stated)) |
| Battery, smartwatch mode | 18 days (Garmin, 45 mm: 'Smartwatch: Up to 18 days'; 50 mm: 24 days) | 14 days (Garmin, 40 mm: 'Smartwatch: Up to 14 days'; 45 mm: 16 days) |
| Battery, always-on display | 7 days (Garmin, 45 mm: '(7 days always-on)'; 50 mm: 9 days) | Not published by the maker |
| Always-on keeps | 39% of the headline figure | not published |
| Battery, GPS workout | 32 h (Garmin, 45 mm: 'GPS Only: Up to 32 hours'; 'All Satellite Systems: Up to 25 hours') | 21 h (Garmin, 40 mm: 'GPS: Up to 21 hours'; 'All Satellite Systems: 14 hours' (45 mm: 24 and 16)) |
| Battery, dual-band GPS | 23 h | not published |
| Battery note | Garmin, 45 mm: 'All Satellite Systems + Multi-Band: Up to 23 hours' (assuming typical use with SatIQ); 'Max Battery GPS: Up to 68 hours'; 'Expedition GPS: Up to 16 days' | Monochrome MIP screen is always visible, so no separate AOD figure; 'Max Battery GPS Mode: Up to 43 hours' (40 mm); no solar |
| Works with | Android; iPhone with limits | Android; iPhone with limits |
| iPhone | Yes, with limits | Yes, with limits |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Phone limits | Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch | Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch |
| Paid tier | Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year | Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year |
| What the paid tier gates | No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads | No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads |
| Update years | Not published by the maker | Not published by the maker |
| Cleared health features | None the maker cites | None the maker cites |
| Display | AMOLED | MIP |
| Always-on display | Yes | not published |
| Dual-band GPS | Yes | No |
| Maps | Route line only (Garmin lists Courses, Back to start and TracBack; no maps) | Route line only (Garmin lists Courses, Back to start and TracBack; no maps) |
| Music on the watch | No | No |
| LTE | No LTE version | No LTE version |
| Contactless pay | Yes | No |
| Flashlight | Yes | No |
| Water rating | 10 ATM | 10 ATM |
| Case | fiber-reinforced polymer | fiber-reinforced polymer |
| Released | 2025 | not published |
Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED: what it gives up
- No maps; the fēnix E and Enduro 4 have them
- No ECG app
- Quick text replies need an Android phone; paired with an iPhone it can show a message but not answer it
Garmin Instinct E: what it gives up
- No Garmin Pay, flashlight or multi-band GPS; Instinct 3 has all three
- Monochrome low-resolution screen
- No music or maps
- Only 14 hours with all satellite systems on (40 mm)
Full pages: Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED · Garmin Instinct E