Garmin Forerunner 265 vs Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED
The Garmin Forerunner 265 lists for about $100 more than the Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED. On the headline smartwatch-mode figure, 18 days for the Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED against 15 days for the Garmin Forerunner 265. Garmin publishes no always-on figure for the Garmin Forerunner 265. For a GPS workout the figures are 32 h and 24 h. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

Garmin
Garmin Forerunner 265
~$450
Garmin moved this mid-range runner to an AMOLED screen in March 2023, and it remains on sale beside the newer 570.
Best for: A runner training for a half or full marathon who wants multi-band accuracy and music below flagship pricing

Garmin
Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED
~$350
Garmin launched Instinct 3 in January 2025 in two display types, AMOLED or solar MIP, sold as separate models.
Best for: A hiker or hunter who wants a tough, bright watch with a flashlight and has no need for maps
| Specification | Garmin Forerunner 265 | Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED |
|---|---|---|
| Approx. price | ~$450 (Forerunner 265S or 265, both $449.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/886785 and /p/886689) | ~$350 (Instinct 3, 45 mm AMOLED, $349.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/1316397; 50 mm AMOLED $399.99) |
| Type | Running | Rugged outdoor |
| Platform | Garmin | Garmin |
| Case sizes | 41.7 mm (265S) / 46.1 mm | 45 mm / 50 mm |
| Weight | 41.7 mm (265S): 39 g · 46.1 mm: 47 g (Garmin spec, 265S: 'Weight: 39 g' (band inclusion not stated)) | 45 mm: 53 g · 50 mm: 59 g (Garmin spec: 'Weight: 53 g' (band inclusion not stated)) |
| Battery, smartwatch mode | 15 days (Garmin, 265S (41.7 mm): 'Smartwatch mode: Up to 15 days'; 265 (46 mm): up to 13 days) | 18 days (Garmin, 45 mm: 'Smartwatch: Up to 18 days'; 50 mm: 24 days) |
| Battery, always-on display | Not published by the maker | 7 days (Garmin, 45 mm: '(7 days always-on)'; 50 mm: 9 days) |
| Always-on keeps | not published | 39% of the headline figure |
| Battery, GPS workout | 24 h (Garmin, 265S: 'GPS-Only GNSS mode: Up to 24 hours'; 265 (46 mm): GPS-only up to 20 hours, SatIQ (AutoSelect) up to 16 hours) | 32 h (Garmin, 45 mm: 'GPS Only: Up to 32 hours'; 'All Satellite Systems: Up to 25 hours') |
| Battery, dual-band GPS | 15 h | 23 h |
| Battery note | Garmin, 265S: all-systems + multi-band up to 15 hours (265: 'All-Systems GNSS mode + Multi-Band: Up to 14 hours'); Garmin publishes no always-on figure for this model | Garmin, 45 mm: 'All Satellite Systems + Multi-Band: Up to 23 hours' (assuming typical use with SatIQ); 'Max Battery GPS: Up to 68 hours'; 'Expedition GPS: Up to 16 days' |
| Works with | Android; iPhone with limits | Android; iPhone with limits |
| iPhone | Yes, with limits | Yes, with limits |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Phone limits | Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch | Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch |
| Paid tier | Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year | Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year |
| What the paid tier gates | No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads | No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads |
| Update years | Not published by the maker | Not published by the maker |
| Cleared health features | None the maker cites | None the maker cites |
| Display | AMOLED | AMOLED |
| Always-on display | Yes | Yes |
| Dual-band GPS | Yes | Yes |
| Maps | Route line only (Garmin lists Courses, Back to start and TracBack; no built-in maps) | Route line only (Garmin lists Courses, Back to start and TracBack; no maps) |
| Music on the watch | Yes | No |
| LTE | No LTE version | No LTE version |
| Contactless pay | Yes | Yes |
| Flashlight | No | Yes |
| Water rating | 5 ATM | 10 ATM |
| Case | fiber-reinforced polymer | fiber-reinforced polymer |
| Released | 2023 | 2025 |
Garmin Forerunner 265: what it gives up
- A 2023 design: no speaker or calls, which the Forerunner 570 and 970 add, and no flashlight, which only the 970 adds
- Garmin publishes no always-on battery figure, so the real AOD runtime is unknown
- No maps; navigation is breadcrumb courses only
- Only 5 ATM water rating
- Text replies from the watch need an Android phone
- Fewer health additions than the 570, which adds skin temperature and Health Status
Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED: what it gives up
- No maps; the fēnix E and Enduro 4 have them
- No ECG app
- Quick text replies need an Android phone; paired with an iPhone it can show a message but not answer it
Full pages: Garmin Forerunner 265 · Garmin Instinct 3 AMOLED