Garmin Lily 2 Active smartwatchFitness~$300

Garmin

Garmin Lily 2 Active

Android; iPhone with limitsPaid tier: Garmin Connect+

Garmin calls it its smallest smartwatch with GPS (October 2024 release), and unlike the regular Lily 2 it records runs and walks without a phone. The 38 mm aluminum case weighs 29 g and hides a grayscale touchscreen under a patterned lens. Garmin Pay, HRV status and sleep coach are included; music storage is not.

Approx. price

~$300

maker's list price, not a live price

Battery, smartwatch mode

9 days

the maker's headline

Battery, always-on display

not published

the maker gives no figure

Battery, GPS workout

9 h

maker's figure

Works with

Android; iPhone with limits

see the limits below

Weight

29 g

Garmin spec: 'Weight: 29 g' (band inclusion not stated)

Best for: A smaller wrist that wants a jewelry-like tracker which can still record a run without the phone

Battery: the claim and the other two figures

Claimed (smartwatch mode)
9 days
With always-on display
not published
GPS workout
9 h
  • Headline: Garmin: 'Smartwatch Mode: Up to 9 days'.
  • GPS: Garmin: 'GPS Mode: 9 hours'.
  • Monochrome 16-level grayscale screen hidden under a patterned lens; Garmin publishes no always-on figure

The ring’s outer track is the headline claim; the inner two are the always-on and GPS figures as a share of it. An empty track means Garmin does not publish that figure. Why the figures differ

Phones, paid tier and updates

iPhone:
Yes, with limits.
Android:
Yes.
Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch
Paid tier:
Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year.
No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads
Watch plus two years of Garmin Connect+: ~$440.
Software updates:
Garmin does not publish a guaranteed number of update years for this model.

Cleared health features

Garmin cites no regulator clearance for a health feature on this model. Its heart-rate, sleep and blood-oxygen readings are wellness features.

A clearance says what a feature is allowed to claim, not that it replaces a doctor. Cleared versus wellness features

Specifications

Approx. price
~$300 (Lily 2 Active, $299.99 list on garmin.com/en-US/p/1196650)
Type
Fitness
Platform
Garmin
Weight
38 mm: 29 g (Garmin spec: 'Weight: 29 g' (band inclusion not stated))
Battery, smartwatch mode
9 days (Garmin: 'Smartwatch Mode: Up to 9 days')
Battery, always-on display
Not published by the maker
Battery, GPS workout
9 h (Garmin: 'GPS Mode: 9 hours')
Battery note
Monochrome 16-level grayscale screen hidden under a patterned lens; Garmin publishes no always-on figure
Works with
Android; iPhone with limits
iPhone
Yes, with limits
Phone limits
Garmin's spec table marks text replies and reject-call-with-text as Android only; iPhone owners get notifications but cannot reply from the watch
Paid tier
Garmin Connect+, $69.99/year
What the paid tier gates
No watch feature requires it: Garmin's chart keeps activity details, health stats, performance metrics, Garmin Coach plans, courses and LiveTrack in the free app. Connect+ adds Active Intelligence AI insights, nutrition logging, a desktop performance dashboard, live activity on the phone, 3D maps and offline Garmin Trails downloads
Update years
Not published by the maker
Cleared health features
None the maker cites
Maps
No maps (No maps or courses)
LTE
No LTE version
Water rating
Swim, 5 ATM
Case
anodized aluminum
Released
2024

Features, per Garmin

  • Built-in GPS (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou)
  • Garmin Pay
  • HRV status, sleep coach and Body Battery
  • 38 mm anodized aluminum case
  • Golf yardages and digital scorecard
  • Two buttons plus touchscreen

Where the specs put it ahead

  • Built-in GPS, which the regular Lily 2 lacks; Garmin calls it its smallest watch with GPS
  • Small 38 mm case that suits wrists the Venu and Forerunner sizes overwhelm
  • Garmin Pay at a register without the phone

What it gives up

  • Grayscale screen with low resolution, harder to read than the AMOLED vívoactive 6 at the same price
  • No music storage
  • Nine hours of GPS limits it to shorter workouts
  • iPhone owners cannot reply to texts
  • No barometric altimeter

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

No owner discussion has been read for the Garmin Lily 2 Active yet. This section stays empty until there is something real to put in it.

Others in the same part of the catalog

Garmin vívoactive 6 smartwatch
Garmin~$300

Garmin vívoactive 6

Fitness · Garmin

Android; iPhone with limitsPaid tier: Garmin Connect+
  • 11-day battery
  • 5 days always-on
  • Music + Pay

Best for: A gym-goer or casual runner who wants music, payments and sleep tracking at the lowest Garmin price with both

Garmin Venu 4 smartwatch
Garmin~$550

Garmin Venu 4

Fitness · Garmin

Android; iPhone with limitsPaid tier: Garmin Connect+ECG app, FDA-cleared
  • FDA-cleared ECG
  • Flashlight
  • 12-day battery (45 mm)

Best for: A health-focused iPhone or Android user who wants an Apple Watch-like design with a week-plus battery

More from Garmin →

← Back to the catalog